I Need Your Help!: GEAR NEEDED for kids!

I have been away from the blog for quite sometime now. In the near future I will be putting up my Journal and photos from this past summers thru-hike of the Long Trail.

Before that happens I have a request.

I am the adviser for the HS Backpacking club at Cuba-Rushford CSD in Allegany County, NY. The kids who want to be in the club have no gear to partake in outdoor activities. The school lies in one of the poorest counties in NYS. See for yourself: New York locations by per capita income. Allegany county  is ranked 60th out of 62 counties in the state for per capita income. I have no money to buy equipment, nor do a majority of the kids.

Here is what I am asking you to please help me with:

  1. Please share this post with anybody you think can be of help!

I know that there are some of you that have gear that you no longer use or will possibly donate to a charity. Please consider donating this gear to kids that can use it.

I have contacted numerous gear companies and they just don’t seem to be interested in helping. We aren’t saving the environment or doing large projects. I am just trying to provide these kid a chance to appreciate the outdoors like I do and want them to have the gear to do so.

Anything and everything can be used. Here is a short list of items that we would love to have if you no longer need them:

  • Old Packs
  • Headlamps
  • Sleeping bags
  • Water Purifiers
  • Tents/Tarps
  • Clothing
  • Rain Gear
  • Stuff Sacks
  • Stoves

If you do want to send items please send them to:

David Rothrock

CUBA RUSHFORD CSD
5476 Rt. 305
Cuba, NY 14727

Thank You, Thank you, Thank You!!!!

 

Leave a Reply

