Cooking System

I hiked more than half of the Appalachian Trail without a stove. I did not suffer, and at the time I was more than content with my cold diet for dinner. Move forward more than 15 years and I am not of the same mindset. For me, going without a hot meal for dinner is just not going to happen. What I enjoy most is a nice hearty meal of Lipton noodles with a packet of chicken as I settle in for the evening.

Stove

img_1067-1For the past 15 or so years I have been using the Primus TiLite canister stove. The stove weighs in at 3.6 oz and is one of the best purchases that I have ever made. The stove packs down small and is easy to use. An adjustable flame makes it possible to simmer my meals when needed. This stove is not cheap, but it has been a very reliable asset.

 

 

Cook Pots

Pots

Toaks–SnowPeak–Evernew

In conjunction with the titanium stove, I have a choice of three sizes of titanium cook pots. Each size has a specific use and function. My largest cook pot made by Evernew has a volume of 1.3l and weighs 4.6oz. This was my first purchase after hiking the Appalachian Trail and has served me well on multi-day trips where I am cooking for two or more.  My intermediate sized is made by Snowpeak. The pot weighs in at 6.2oz with a volume of 900ml. This pot is used for cooking my Lipton noodles on my solo trips.  The smallest sized pot is made by Toaks and has a 600ml volume and weights 3.80z. This is the perfect size for prepackaged freeze-dried meals.

img_1067-1

Brunton Stove on Left and my choice Primus TiLite Stove

Canisters

Canister size has vastly improved since I first purchased my stove. In the past, I traditionally carried an 8oz canister. Today you can get canisters that only weigh around 3.5oz. I find that a 3.5oz canister will last me about 10 days of cooking my dinners. Normal use for me is bringing water to a boil and cooking my Lipton noodles/chicken for about 2 minutes. After the 2 minutes  is up, I cap the noodles and let my meal sit for 10 or so minutes.

Miscellaneous

Bandanna, Lexan Spoon Spatula

Mung Rag, Lexan Spoon Spatula

To shovel in the delectable meals, I prefer a small lexan spoon. I keep a bandanna to clean up any spillage, grab the handles should they get hot, and to dry the pot after cleaning. The end of a spatula is used to clean out any remaining food before I clean and dry my cook pot.

So what is your choice of stove and why?

 

7 thoughts on “Cooking System

  1. The rubber spatula bit you learned from a Scout probably, one who had been to Philmont probably. He’s probably really smart. 20th anniversary of my hike up Springer is coming in 2 weeks. Springer fever is raging.

    Like

    • Very True! I did learn that trick from you before I started my hike!!! And yes you are smart. I have a bad case of Springer fever this year myself.

      Like

  2. Your post is indeed timely; I’m in the market for a good cooking pot. How durable is the Toaks? Can you lay it right on a bed of hot coals? Oh, and the Budweiser bandanna is a nice touch.

    Like

    • The toaks seems pretty durable thus far. I am not sure that I would put it directly on the coals. That bandanna has been around the block several times! When are you starting?

      Like

      • My family and I have a room booked at the Lazy Pond Bed & Breakfast in Liberty for the evening of Sunday, May 15. I’ll hit the trail first thing the next morning…

        Like

      • Your trip is going to be here before you know it! Make sure you give me a shout when you get near my neck of the woods.

        Like

Leave a Reply

